Why halal is not vegetarian diet | SoundVision.com

Why halal is not vegetarian diet

As Muslims in North America are becoming more prominent as a consumer group, different non-Muslim businesses and interest groups are making an effort to profit from this opportunity. United Airlines now offers Hindu meals to those Muslims who ask for Halal food.

Similarly Kosher offering businessmen have made an effort to get Muslim inmates to eat Kosher instead of Halal, arguing that it is okay for Muslims to consume that. Recently, Muslim objections to McDonald's French Fries class action settlements were rejected by judge on the ground that Muslims did not file a lawsuit against McDonald's; meanwhile he allocated some cy pres funds for them from the Vegetarian allocation. Some Vegetarian and Muslim groups are appealing the settlement on these grounds. It is, therefore, important for all parties to understand how Halal is different from different Vegetarian dietary practices.

Halal is not Vegetarian:

  1. Halal is a set of Islamic dietary laws guided by the Quran and the teachings of Allah's prophet Muhammad, may peace and blessings be upon him.
  2. The source of the dietary decision is the major difference in the Halal diet of Muslims and vegetarianism. Vegetarians' decisions are essentially made by human beings because of health concerns or ideological opposition to eating animals, or in case of Hindu Vegetarians, these are set of rules historically evolved and ordained by Manu Simirti, the Hindu book of laws.
  3. Unlike most vegetarians, it is permissible for Muslims to eat meat of certain animals as long as they are slaughtered by Muslims after due permission from God by invoking certain phrases according to the rules specified by God's messenger, peace be upon him.
  4. Vegetarians allow an ingredient in their dietary practices that separate them from Halal, and that is alcohol. Alcohol is usually found in dressings, sauces and in vanilla flavoring. Many Vegetarian recipes call for wine as ingredient. Even the smallest amount of alcohol is forbidden for Muslims.
  5. Hindu faith based vegetarianism prohibits the use of many vegetables for men of certain castes. For example garlic and onions, which are not prohibited in Islam.
    "Garlic, leeks and onions, mushrooms and (all plants), springing from impure (substances), are unfit to be eaten by twice-born men [Brahmins and two other top castes in Indian social system]." The Laws of Manu, translated by G. Buhiler, P. 170, Motilal Banarsidass, Delhi, India 1979 print under UNESCO Collection of Representative works, Indian Series..
  6. Hindu faith based vegetarianism promotes the use of cow urine, but it is prohibited in Islamic rules of Halal. The Indian government of Gujarat led by Hindu religious government is heavily promoting the consumption of cow urine.
    See the story Julian West in New Delhi, A gift from the gods: bottled cow's urine, daily Telegraph, London: 02/09/2001
  7. Most vegetarians do not eat fish, while it is permissible for Muslims to eat fish.
  8. Some vegetarians do not eat eggs while Muslims consider that to be Halal.

Not as strict as the Kosher diet rules, but Muslim rules of Halal food are a unique set. It does have similarity with vegetarian or kosher diets in some areas but not in all areas. In the absence of the availability of Halal food, a Muslim is allowed to eat anything which does not include things that are prohibited in Islam. In an extreme situation where there is no choice and it may be a question of life and death, a Muslim can eat even prohibited items only as much as to sustain life with no desire to disobey God.

It is welcoming trend that many people in the food industry are pushing their products to pass as Halal because of growing domestic market for halal in the US and Canada, but also because of export to the other countries where Halal import is a big business. These trends are welcoming and point to the urgent need for Halal groups to work with Vegetarians, Kosher groups, and Organic advocates to collectively enhance the common agenda of healthy diet for all the society.

However, it is also important for Muslims to continue to assert that Halal is a distinct set of dietary rules which should be recognized by all the businesses which we patronize. Since many of the 54 Muslim countries import food items from the US, it is financially beneficial for American food industry to learn about Halal rules and abide by them.


"Artichoke flower and veggies" by Dana Payne - Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Artichoke_flower_and_veggies.jpg#mediaviewer/File:Artichoke_flower_and_veggies.jpg


The double standard of sound Vision including Muslim Network Tv when it comes to Islamophobia and Hinduphobia is blatant. You guys denounce Islamophobia in all its form while on the other hand flagrantly promote Hinduphobia with ill informed narratives about Hindus. Muslims are always the victim from your point of view. Thats really disgusting. I would like to invite you to Mauritius to witness the harmony that exists between Hindus and Muslims and how happily each other share their respective dishes considering each other religious requirements. Be more fair and less bias.



masha allah the article is really good may allah keep all the muslims to obey the rules and eat halal food but there are many muslims doesn't care about it and it haram food so this kind of articles should be posted so that they read it and be a real muslim.



may allah give u regards of this regards..



i would like to point out a mistake in your article because i happen to be a hindu.....something about wine has been mentioned and one of the readers have said that they didnt know about wine being used in "hindu" veg meals....this is a mistake as takin wine or alcohol is considered a great sin in the hindu scriptures......i think this is misinformation as it is completely against our teachings........it is definitely not a regular practice and maybe a rare example was what you have mentioned.



this web site helps thanks alot


Assalamalaikumgreat article and the muslim world needs more of these articles...one thing I always get perplexed about is that fine , you go to a restaurant and you try to stick to whats halal for us from the menu, but what about if that same establishment serves pork and basically they use the same utensils etc....can we eat in such a place ? and if not then does that not automatically exclude mcdonalds n the other fast food franchises as suitable for muslims.Secondly what about pre-packaged stuff, as in they have all these flavourings E41 etc...it would be nice to know whats halal n whats not based on the flavourings.



Thank you for clearing the differences between vegetarian, Kosher and Halal. Most muslims are ignorant of the information and opt for vegetarian food . As for cow urine I wonder whether our non muslim vegetarians know what they are eating?


May Allah give u reward of this great struggle



One most important thing I would like to add about the Hindu Vegetarian food available at the vegetarian restaurants and all the muslims routinely go there and eat it. The Quran clearly states that any food ( not only meat) is prohibited for muslims on which other than Allah's name is pronounced. As you see hindu will Always takes their gods name when they start preparing the food, so my question is if the food is prepared by taking the name of god other than Allah , how it is permissible for muslims. Please advise. thanks


Brampton, Canada


Add new comment