List of halal and haram food ingredients

List of halal and haram food ingredients

The lists of Halal and Haram food  below have been taken with permission from the book 'Islamic Dietary Laws and Practices by Mohammad Mazhar Hussaini and M S Ahmad Hussein Sakr, Ph.D .

It should be noted that a product being imported from a Muslim country is not necessarily a guarantee that it is completely Halal. In fact, food is often imported from abroad into Muslim countries without proper checking of ingredients.


An alphabetical list of Halal and Haram ingredients to look out for:

Bacon: A side of pig meat (pork).

Choletsorol: type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is Halal.

Diglyceride: Emulsifier. If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known.

Gelatin (Jello Gelatin): Usually of animal origin, mostly from pig. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, then it is halal/

Glycerol (Glycerine): It could be of animal, plant or Glyceryl-Stearate synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspected.

Hormones: Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement.

Lard: Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us.

Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid): Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.

Mono Glycerides: When derived from animal source. (Halal when the source is plant).

Pepsin: A digestive enzyme mostly from pig stomach.

Rennin (Rennet): A protein Enzyme. Usually not labeled. (In most cheeses).

Shortening: Fats and oils of animal origin. Animal/Lard

Vanilla: Extracted using alcohol.

Vitamins: Haram when from animal source. Mostly the source is synthetic or plant and are Halal.

Whey: Used in ice creams and yogurt. Haram when from animal source.


S/N Name of Ingredients Code No Brief Description

Antioxidants: Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.

Ascorbic acid: Vitamin C.

Benzoate (Benzoic acid): Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used for food preservation.

Biotin: A member of the B complex vitamins.

BHA: An antioxidant, preservative.

BHT: An antioxidant, preservative.

Citric acid: Sources are plant, usually of the citrus family. (e.g. orange, lime, lemon).

Cobalamine: Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12.

Dextrin: An emulsifying, sizing, and thickening agent.

Fiber: Sources are plant. Provide roughage to diet.

Fructose: Fruit sugar.

Gliadin (Gluten): Ptotein found in wheat and rye.

Hydrogenated oil: Vegetable oil being hydrogenated making it solid at room temperature.

Iodine: A nutrient for thyroid gland.

Lecithin: Emulsifier of fat. In the USA, sources are mainly soyabean and egg yolk.

Lipids : Essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal; it is suspected.

Malt: A kind of fermented grain.

Molasses: Syrup liquid obtained in refining sugar.

MSG: Flavoring. Imparts meat flavor to foods.

Niacin: One of the B complex vitamins.

PABA: A food supplement.

Pectin: A gelatinous substance extracted from fruits.

Propionic acid: A preservative.

Riboflavin: One of the B complex vitamins. Usually the source is synthetic.

Pure vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.

100% vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.

Sweetener: Substance that gives a sweet taste.

Thiamin: One of the B complex vitamins.

Vanillin: Flavoring agent, extracted from vanilla.

Vitamin A: If source are plant and synthetic, it is halal.

Vitamin C: Natural sources are from plant. (e.g. citrus fruit, tomatoes, etc).

Vitamin D: Natural sources are yeast and fish liver oil. Also synthetically produced.

Vitamin E: Rich sources of Vitamin E are vegetable oils. When source is synthetic, it is halal. If source is animal, it is suspected.

Water: The nutrient most vital to man's existence.

Food yeast: Microscopic, unicellular, fungal plant used for fermentation process and in baking bread.


Photo Attribution:  "Weizen2" by Dako99 - Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons -


hello im just wondering do you know any stores that carry kosher products i am sad to find out that even though I have stopped eating all pork products, but ive did some research today and some of the foods i buy today still have pork products plz help>



To Nadia Ejaz : If you are on life saving drugs and you do not have any other option except the one u mentioned i guess pork gland thyroid , it is thn totally acceptable as you are left with no other choice of medication to save your life so you can youse that medicine rather thn dieing best of luck to u may Allah give you health and the wisdom to go through his religion and shariyat e Muhammadi may Peace Be Upon Him



To Nadia, I am a pharmacist. Levothyroxine is a synthetic form of thyroid hormone, and it does not come from pork gland. Since it is of higher quality than natural pork thyroid hormone, produces less allergic reaction than pork thyroid hormone, and does not carry the risk of transmitting an infection, it is most widely used now. Moreover, pork thyroid gland only comes in the form of powder, whereas levothyroxine comes in tablet and injection form.



this is very good to know halal or haram inredians but little bit confusing abt whey powder how can we know its from halal animals, it used in chocklets icecreams or many thing what can we do?



salamu alaikum brothers and sisters! for all you cheese lovers . i have found cheese that is rennet free (no animal fat). three are at meijers stores (naturally good kosher). Also kroeger stores sell(horizon brands). They also sell vegetaian cheese and vagan cheese. Vegan cheese is milk free and rice cheese is milk protein free especially for people who cannot digest milk. my favorite cheese is sold at whole foods.It is rice cheese. it tastes real good!. Remember everyone no short cuts. Its your responsibility what you eat and what you feed your family. Giving animal product is just like giving non halal anything just like meat.



I have a question concerning Mono-and diglcerides used in sunshine products while they are preparing these items. Do these items contain pork strain of either of these chemicals? Pertaining to the Jello and pudding products.



Assalamu alaikum, Does anyone know of any brand of paracetamol or alternative pain relief that i can buy in the UK that is completely halal i.e., which doesn't contain geletin or a Magnesium Stearate that is made from animal by products? thanks


west midlands

@ Nadia Ejaz - I am currently taking levothyroxine and after reading this article and your comment I called up my pharmacy to ask whether levothyroxine was really haraam. I was told that animal hormones were used in such medicines, but that was about about 30 years ago.. they no longer use animal hormones in Levothyroxine so it is HALAL to take.



Thank you for allowing posts on your site without requiring membership. For the lady who is concerned about thyroid, there is a synthetic substitute for the T3 active thyroid hormone that can be combined with Levothyroxin or Synthroid. The name of the drug is Cytomel and as far as I know it is not animal-based. Levothyroxin in combination with Cytomel is a fair approximation for the natural animal-based thyroid hormone. You can find more about it in the thyroid articles my Mary Shomon at


Auburn, WA

thanks for the full explanation of haram and halal ingredients its very helpful i appreciate i didnt know most of these stuff u mentioned above




Add new comment