Is Kosher Halal?

Hanukkah dishes

Often times Muslim consumers tend to assume 'Kosher' is similar to 'Halal'. Although the slaughtering rituals of Jewish people resemble those of Muslims; kosher and halal are two different entities carrying a different meaning and spirit. Muslims, therefore, are provided with the following basic information about Kosher so they can exercise care in distinguishing halal from kosher.

Kashrut (in Hebrew) is the system of Jewish dietary laws. Kosher (kashur in Hebrew) means 'fit, or proper for use' according to Jewish law. Examples of kosher are: the meat of the 'fore quarter*' of the cattle slaughtered ritually, fruits, vegetables, all fish that have fins*, Kosher wines*, Kosher cheeses*, Kosher gelatin*.

The opposite of Kosher, as applied to food in Treif (in Yiddish), or trefah (in Hebrew) meaning 'not suitable for use', or 'forbidden'. Trefah literally means 'torn by a wild beast' (Exodus 22:30). Examples of Trefah are: blood, swine, rabbit*, all shell fish*, wild birds such as wild hen*, wild duck*, and the birds of prey.

(*) These food items exhibit a marked difference between kosher and Halal as well as trefah and haram. The differences are explained elsewhere in this section.

Caution to Muslim Consumers:

Halal is a comprehensive Islamic term encompassing not only the matters of food and drink, but all other matters of daily life. Islam being the final and perfect way of life for humanity, it supersedes all the previously revealed religions including Christianity and Judaism. The rituals in all matters were perfected by God (al-Quran 5:3)

According to Islamic Jurisprudence, no one except God can change forbidden (Haram) things into lawful (halal) for vice-versa. It is forbidden for people to change the lawful (Halal) things into unlawful (Haram), or vice-versa.

Halal is a unique Islamic concept and eating zabiha (Islamically slaughtered) meat is a distinguishing part of a Muslim's identity as expressed by Prophet Muhammad, peace and blessings be upon him.

Salient differences between kosher and halal are:

Islam prohibits all intoxicating alcohols, liquors, wines and drugs. kashrut regards their wines kosher. Hence food items and drinks showing the kosher symbol containing alcohol are not halal.

Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. If the gelatin is prepared from non-zabiha, Muslims consider it haram (prohibited). Hence foods items such as marshmallows, yogurt, etc., showing kosher symbols are not always halal.

Enzymes (irrespective of their sources even from non-kosher animals) in cheese making are considered mere secretion (pirsah b'almah) according to some kashrut organizations, hence all cheeses are considered kosher by many Jews. Muslims look for the source of the enzyme in cheese making. If it is coming from the swine, it is considered haram(forbidden). Hence cheeses showing kosher symbols may not be halal.

Jews do not pronounce the name of God on each animal while slaughtering. They feel that uttering the name of God, out of context, is wasteful. Muslims on the other hand pronounce the name of Allah on all animals while slaughtering.

The salient differences between kosher and halal have been illustrated so that Muslim consumers can distinguish halal from kosher.

Muslims in non-Muslim countries should strive to follow the Islamic injunctions in their diet (as well as in every walk of life) and establish their own businesses and institutions to cater to the needs of the Muslim Ummah. By doing so, not only the identity of the Muslims will be preserved, but they will be recognized and respected for their beliefs and practices.

Differences within Kosher:

There are different sects within Judaism and there are several hundred Jewish Kosher authorities in the US who certify Kosher based on extremely liberal to extremely conservative rules. Therefore it is difficult to come up with one uniform opinion regarding Kosher practices. A symbols "k" for kosher is not governed by any authority. Any manufacturer can use it at will. A website guiding Jews about Kosher states "it may take a great deal of detective work to ascertain the standard that a particular rabbi is using." For this reason many Muslims when buying anything kosher look for "u" in a circle which are more conservative Kosher symbol.

 

"Hanukkah dishes" by Ms Jones from California, USA - Happy Hanukkah!. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Hanukkah_dishes.jpg#mediaviewer/File:Hanukkah_dishes.jpg

Comments

Dear brothers and sisters,

My colleague from canada give me a gift of Purdys Canada 150 Tin Package chocolates.

I have mailed the purdys asking for kosher certification of that product but no answer yet.

Is that kosher certification for chocolate means it is halal too ?

Salaam

Location

Indonesia

I mean who t u to say that muslims musn't eat kosher and the Quran was clear that we can eat the food of people of the book ... and if the animal was slaughtered we can eat it and say besmelah !! ... check ur sources please i do buy kosher meat

Location

Usa

Sorry,Mr no problem with kosher, but Muslims hv problem with it , cz they need to slaughter animal by the name of Allah..... Its a clear difference....

Location

Hang kong

One guy who claims to be the only Halal meat supplier , is charging $350 for a goat for Qurbani ,isnt this highway robbery ??

For 45 years since I came to America , this controversy about Halal and non Halal is going on, first we used to ask for Halal , then we woke up and said , no , we want Halal and Zabiha .. Now we have another criteria that is being asked by the customers , is it Halal, Zabiha and Hand slaughtered . The quotation in the Quran is , very clear but to be different we keep on arguing , parsing words to suit our agenda.

Location

Fullerton

Because of economies of scale, big store are able to reduce their prices. While small Muslim's stores do not have enough sales to sale at lower amount

I am Muslim but I am sorry you are wrong about kosher. I eat kosher and have no problem eating kosher meat as a substitute for halal meat. Kosher law is much stricter when it comes to meat than halal law is. Glatt Kosher checks organs for diseases....we Muslims miss that.

Location

Kosher meat are not halal as it is not slaughterer by the name of Allah though kosher meat prepared after lots of procedure. It is simple as it is. As a Muslim you should strict with Islamic laws.

Location

london

No need to get worked up those who think this article is not correct just say what you think is incorrect and write what you think is correct. The person tried their best to provide info and maybe made some mistakes. Everyone makes mistakes.

Location

Pages

Add new comment

(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.