1-800-432-4262
  News | Education | Halal & healthy | Parenting | Teens | Kids | Marriage | The Quran | Glossary 
Audio Video Computer Books Gifts & Things Games


Rate this Article

The History of the Quranic Text From Revelation to Compilation [Sheikh M M Al-Azami]

$40.00 $34.95
Buy Now


**2 for $ 90.00 " You save $10 " HOT ITEM
Al Noor Hanging Center-Piece Bright White LED Lights

$59.95 $49.95
Buy Now


Pyramid Pillars

$7.00 $6.00
Buy Now

Halal & Healthy

LIST OF HALAL
AND HARAM FOOD INGREDIENTS


The lists below have been taken with permission from the book 'Islamic Dietary Laws and Practices by Mohammad Mazhar Hussaini and M S Ahmad Hussein Sakr, Ph.D .

It should be noted that a product being imported from a Muslim country is not necessarily a guarantee that it is completely Halal. In fact, food is often imported from abroad into Muslim countries without proper checking of ingredients.

1. AN ALPHABETICAL DEFINITION GUIDE

An alphabetical list of Halal and Haram ingredients to look out for:

Bacon: A side of pig meat (pork).

Choletsorol: type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is Halal.

Diglyceride: Emulsifier. If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known.

Gelatin (Jello Gelatin): Usually of animal origin, mostly from pig. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, then it is halal/

Glycerol (Glycerine): It could be of animal, plant or Glyceryl-Stearate synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspected.

Hormones: Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement.

Lard: Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us.

Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid): Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.

Mono Glycerides: When derived from animal source. (Halal when the source is plant).

Pepsin: A digestive enzyme mostly from pig stomach.

Rennin (Rennet): A protein Enzyme. Usually not labeled. (In most cheeses).

Shortening: Fats and oils of animal origin. Animal/Lard

Vanilla: Extracted using alcohol.

Vitamins: Haram when from animal source. Mostly the source is synthetic or plant and are Halal.

Whey: Used in ice creams and yogurt. Haram when from animal source.

2. A PARTIAL LIST OF HALAL INGREDIENTS
S/N Name of Ingredients Code No Brief Description

Antioxidants: Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.

Ascorbic acid: Vitamin C.

Benzoate (Benzoic acid): Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used for food preservation.

Biotin: A member of the B complex vitamins.

BHA: An antioxidant, preservative.

BHT: An antioxidant, preservative.

Citric acid: Sources are plant, usually of the citrus family. (e.g. orange, lime, lemon).

Cobalamine: Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12.

Dextrin: An emulsifying, sizing, and thickening agent.

Fiber: Sources are plant. Provide roughage to diet.

Fructose: Fruit sugar.

Gliadin (Gluten): Ptotein found in wheat and rye.

Hydrogenated oil: Vegetable oil being hydrogenated making it solid at room temperature.

Iodine: A nutrient for thyroid gland.

Lecithin: Emulsifier of fat. In the USA, sources are mainly soyabean and egg yolk.

Lipids : Essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal; it is suspected.

Malt: A kind of fermented grain.

Molasses: Syrup liquid obtained in refining sugar.

MSG: Flavoring. Imparts meat flavor to foods.

Niacin: One of the B complex vitamins.

PABA: A food supplement.

Pectin: A gelatinous substance extracted from fruits.

Propionic acid: A preservative.

Riboflavin: One of the B complex vitamins. Usually the source is synthetic.

Pure vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.

100% vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.

Sweetener: Substance that gives a sweet taste.

Thiamin: One of the B complex vitamins.

Vanillin: Flavoring agent, extracted from vanilla.

Vitamin A: If source are plant and synthetic, it is halal.

Vitamin C: Natural sources are from plant. (e.g. citrus fruit, tomatoes, etc).

Vitamin D: Natural sources are yeast and fish liver oil. Also synthetically produced.

Vitamin E: Rich sources of Vitamin E are vegetable oils. When source is synthetic, it is halal. If source is animal, it is suspected.

Water: The nutrient most vital to man's existence.

Food yeast: Microscopic, unicellular, fungal plant used for fermentation process and in baking bread.




Your Comments

Hasmina, KCS, Isulan, Sultan Kudarat - wrote on 2/3/2012 2:02:19 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: The vanilla is written under haram... how come vanillin extracted from vanilla is in halal list?


syed mustafa ali, hyderabad - wrote on 6/4/2011 4:03:29 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: asak, i want to know whether noodles and lays are halal or haram.


syed mustafa ali, hyderabad - wrote on 6/4/2011 4:02:42 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: asak, i want to know whether noodles and lays are halal or haram.


Muhib Golandaz, Los Angeles - wrote on 4/29/2011 1:37:12 PM
Rating: Rating

Comment: Reply to Zahra, I strictly follow only one source, which is www.Muslimconsumergroup.com. I do come across many situations here in USA where something mentioned as halal at one place is mentioned as haraam by another Ulema Ikraam. I follow what MCG has to say, I dont say other Ulema are wrong (I dont qualify to do that) but just like how we have 4 schools of jurispridence (Hanafi, Shafai, Maliki and Hanbali), we do not say that either one is wrong, but we can only follow 100% the fiqh of any one Imaam. We cannot pick and choose rules from one imaam to another based on our desires. I would suggest following the same principle and follow only one source for Halal and Haraam. If you do the research MCG has one of the most extensive list and very deeply researched. Allah O Alam.


zahra, seattle - wrote on 3/28/2011 1:53:32 PM
Rating: Rating

Comment: aslamu alaykum every1 i am confused, i check more than hundered times the computer to see wat is halal and whats haram. every website gave defferent answer, like yesterday i saw something that say is halal the some thing is haram. may allah guide us please someone help me!


muzaffer, hyderabad - wrote on 3/26/2011 6:47:51 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: i need all indian food and manufacterers which is halal and haram


Hajra, Baroda - wrote on 3/4/2011 4:38:14 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: Donia from Melbourne : You are lucky to be in Australian city of Melbourne, many kinds of halal cheese are available. Eg. Beta brand has Halal sign. Many flavours of cadbury chocolate have Halal sign.


Hajra, Baroda - wrote on 3/4/2011 4:36:56 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: Donia from Melbourne : You are lucky to be in Australian city of Melbourne, many kinds of halal cheese are available. Eg. Beta brand has Halal sign. Many flavours of cadbury chocolate have Halal sign.


Farhana , Dehradun - wrote on 2/27/2011 9:35:10 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: slaam evry1 can smbdy plz guide me frm where to buy halal food, medicines cosmetics in india? I myself make moisturiser for my skin which also includes bottled glycerine...wht shud i do now? smbody knws abt any indian company which makes glycerine from plant source???? plz help!


Farhana , Dehradun - wrote on 2/27/2011 9:33:57 AM
Rating: Rating

Comment: slaam evry1 can smbdy plz guide me frm where to buy halal food, medicines cosmetics in india? I myself make moisturiser for my skin which also includes bottled glycerine...wht shud i do now? smbody knws abt any indian company which makes glycerine from plant source???? plz help!


More Comments


   
FREE Newsletter

Loaded with Valuable Deals & Content!

 Name:
 
 Email:
 
 Be the FIRST to receive: FRESH Perspectives, Helpful Tips & Exclusive Product Offers!

 Preferred mail format:
  auto-detect
  text  HTML
 
Search
Articles Products
Search The Quran
YusufAli Pickthall
Surah Ayah
Something to Ask...
O Allah!
You are my Rubb. There is no true god except You. You have created me, and I am Your slave, and I hold to Your Covenant as far as I can. I seek refuge in You from the evil of what I have done. I acknowledge the favours that You have bestowed upon me, and I confess my sins. Pardon me, for none but You has the power to pardon.
RadioIslam.com
  News | Education | Halal & healthy | Parenting | Teens | Kids | Marriage | The Quran | Glossary 
Copyright © 2014 Sound Vision Foundation, Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
2701 W. Devon Ave., Chicago, IL. 60659, USA
Email: info@soundvision.com · Phone: 773-973-4200
Follow us on: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
Last update: